About Us  •  Blog  •  Contact Us  •  Chat  •  Webmail
Your location:

SENDING MESSAGES

When you are logged into the voicemail system, you can send messages to other voicemail subscribers. Sending messages while logged on gives you access to advanced features, which are not available if you simply call the recipient's line.

  • As well as sending a normal voicemail, you can record one message and send it to several
    subscribers at the same time.

  • If you regularly need to send messages to a number of people, you can create a group list to avoid entering the numbers each time.

Sending a Message when you are Logged into Voicemail

Throughout the process of sending a message, until the point when you have finished recording, you may return to the Main menu by pressing *. You can also press * to cancel a message if you make a mistake.

To send a message to one or more numbers, press 2 from the main menu.

1. When prompted, enter a group list number (see below) or the telephone number of the person you wish to receive the message. Press # when finished.

2. An announcement plays back the number of the recipient, or the recipient's name if it is available.

  • If you made a mistake and need to re-enter the number, press * to cancel and start again.

  • If you want to add a further recipient, enter their number followed by #. You are then returned to step 1 above.

  • If you have finished entering numbers and want to continue with sending a message, just press #.

3. After the tone, record your message and press # when finished.

4. An announcement states that the message has been recorded.

  • To hear delivery options (see below), press 1.

  • To send the message without changing delivery options, press #.

5. When your message has been sent, you return to the Main menu.

Delivery Options for Messages

There are a number of delivery options available to you once you have added recipients and finished recording a message.

  • To review the message again, press 1. Your recording is then played back.
    • To re-record the message, press 1.
    • To keep the current recording and add to it with a further recording, press 2. This feature allows you to add more information to your message without having to re-record it entirely.
    • If you are happy with the recording as is, press #.
  • To switch whether or not the message is marked as urgent, press 2.

  • Marking your message urgent ensures the recipient hears that message before any other non-urgent messages - even if your message was sent after those non-urgent messages.

  • To switch whether the message is marked as private or not, press 3.

  • Marking your message private will prevent the recipient from forwarding your message to anyone else.

  • To re-record the message, press 4. The original message is discarded and you start recording a new message.

  • To switch whether or not you request a delivery report, press 5. If you request a delivery report, you will receive a notification in your mailbox when your message is successfully delivered and
    available for the recipient to pick up.

  • To switch whether or not you request a report when the message has been read, press 6. If you request a read report, you will receive a notification in your mailbox when the recipient listens to your message.

  • To add a further recipient, press 7.
  • Enter a telephone number or group list number, followed by #.
  • The number or, where available, the recipient's name is then played back.
    • If you made a mistake and need to re-enter the number, press * to cancel and start again.
    • If you want to add additional recipients, enter the additional number followed by #.
    • If you want to continue with sending a message, just press #.
  • To send the message as is press #.
  • To cancel your message after or during recording it, press *. This will return you to the announcement asking you to make a recording.
  • Pressing * again will move you up the menu. You can then hang up to end the call, select another option from the menu, or keep pressing * until you exit the system.

When your message has been sent, you return to the Main menu.

Creating and Managing your Group Lists

If you regularly need to send messages to a group of contacts, rather than entering each number in turn every time, the voicemail system allows you to set up a group list that contains all these numbers. You can start a list, record a name for the list (for example "sales team", or "group leaders") and then add numbers to it. Then, when you want to send a message, you only need to enter the group list number.

You can even add existing group lists to a new group list - for example to include the sales team, engineering team and maintenance team in a single group list.

To manage your group lists, press 1 from the Mailbox Settings Menu. From the Group Lists menu, you can do the following:

  • Add a new group list
  • Edit an existing group list
  • Review existing group lists